Comparison · Verified 2026-09-04

CrayonMill vs Colorin for KDP coloring books

The short version

Colorin is a subscription coloring-book tool built around KDP-compatible sizes, priced from $11.99 to $79 a month across four tiers (Hobby, Essential, Pro, Business), each capping batch size, active book count, and how much of the margin tooling is unlocked. Commercial rights are included from the Hobby tier up. CrayonMill has one pricing model — credit packs, no subscription — and no separate cap on how many pages a single book can hold beyond its own 24–300 interior-page window.

ColorinCrayonMill
Unit of workOne page, batched up to 15 (Hobby/Essential), 25 (Pro), or 50 (Business) per runOne book (24–300 art pages, up to 150 single-sided)
TopicsNot described as automatic — batching is a page-count feature, not stated as topic planningPlanned from an audience and a theme, one distinct topic per page
ResolutionNot stated on their pricing or homepage2550 × 3300 px = 300 DPI, always, documented
Line art formatNot stated on their site1-bit (no gray pixels), enforced before export
PDFMulti-size PDF export on every tier; auto margins unlock at Essential ($15.99/mo, 100-use cap), unlimited at Pro ($39.99/mo) and upGutter set automatically by page count (0.375 in / 0.5 in), included on every plan, no tier gate
Failed generationsNot stated on their siteCredits refunded, page marked, one-tap regenerate
Photo to coloring pageYes, listed as photo conversion from Hobby ($11.99/mo) upNo (deliberately)
Cover generatorYes, book covers included per tier (5 on Hobby, up to unlimited on Business)No — see the cover size guide
Online coloringNot stated on their site as a distinct featurePlanned (tap-to-fill player)
Free tier8 free pages plus "100+ free designs," no credit cardFirst 4 pages free, full resolution, no watermark
Pricing4 subscription tiers, $11.99–$79/month, plus separate credit packsCredit packs only, no subscription
Actual output · 2550 × 3300 · 300 DPI · 1-bit (preview downscaled). Colored view: Example coloring by AI — the product output is 1-bit line art.

From Pressed Botanicals (Adults) · Make one like it

Where Colorin is the better pick

  • If you want character-consistency across pages from an uploaded reference image, Colorin's custom character upload covers that in a way CrayonMill does not.
  • If you are running many small books at once and want tier-based active-book limits (3 on Hobby, up to unlimited on Business) as a planning guardrail, that structure is built into Colorin's pricing.

Where CrayonMill is the better pick

  • If a single book needs more than 15–25 pages, Colorin's per-batch caps push you into a higher subscription tier just to reach it in one run; CrayonMill supports up to 300 art pages per book on any plan.
  • If unlimited auto-margins matter, that only fully unlocks at Colorin's $39.99/month Pro tier (Essential's $15.99/month version caps at 100 uses); CrayonMill sets the gutter by page count automatically from the first free page onward, no tier gate.

Sources

Last verified 2026-09-04. Updated 2026-09-04.

Make your first 4 pages free

Questions

What is Colorin's cheapest plan?

Hobby, at $11.99/month ($143.88/year billed annually), with 500 credits/month and up to 15 pages per batch. Commercial rights are included from this tier up.

Does Colorin require a subscription?

Its main pricing is four monthly/annual tiers. It also sells one-time credit packs (150 to 600 credits) separately, with credits described as not expiring.

At what tier does Colorin's auto-margin feature unlock?

Essential, at $15.99/month — capped at 100 uses. Unlimited automatic margins need Pro ($39.99/month) or above.